And we both cried together…


The house was too crowded. There were lot many people. Some I knew and some I didn’t. But they all seemed to know me. Nobody asked me my name. Nor did I tell anyone. They just knew. But they all looked happy. Nobody was sad or tensed.

Even mom was smiling. She wasn’t crying or angry or anything.

All my uncles, my aunty, grand uncle and grand aunties had also come.

Everyone was busy with some or the other work. It was one of my uncles wedding. That was the reason why all had gathered. I have heard people say that there is lot of preparation to do in wedding house. I see now. Aunty was also busy doing some work. I also wanted to help her. After asking her numerous times, she finally gave me job of wiping the bottles with wet cloth as she wiped the shelf with other wet cloth.

Of all the aunties, this aunty talked a lot to me. Maybe because she don’t have her babies to occupy her. She also played all sorts of games with me. Especially House-house. But today there was lot of work and I wanted to help her like a good girl 🙂

All the day’s work was done by the evening. All were having warm tea. I don’t have tea, I just eat biscuits dipped in tea. I had it while aunty was having her tea. Then we went to the kitchen to look for other work. Mom and other uncles were chit chatting in bedroom. I could hear mom talking. Talking about dad. About the day when he wore coat. Uncle was also going to wear one. He wanted something to put in coat, and mom was describing how dad had worn it. Oh God! Where is dad??

Everyone is here. But where is Dad? I haven’t seen him in so many days. How did he disappear? All of a sudden? He was not well and mom took him to hospital. But after that he never returned. Where did he go? I miss him… I miss him so much!

I don’t know what happened then. All of a sudden there was so much pain, so much void. Some butterflies in my stomach. Tears began to roll down my cheeks. I didn’t want them to. But I couldn’t control.

“I want dad!” But I didn’t say that aloud.
“I want mom!” I said instead.
“Want happened Lily?” Aunty asked as if she knew I was lying.
“Do you want chocolates?”
“Do you want biscuits?” She continued to ask if I want this or that. Just liked I continue to say I want mom.

She didn’t ask if I want dad. Even she knew he is missing. But she didn’t ask if I want him. Just like I didn’t say I want him.

Everybody in the room turned their eyes to me. Their smiles vanished. Little tense. Little murmur. But pretending that all is normal.

Maybe all is normal.
Except that my dad is missing.

Even aunty got serious now. She bent down to me. Stopped asking what I wanted and just said

“Lily, stop crying. Don’t cry.”
She wiped my tears.
“I want mom!”
“Stop crying first”
I continued to cry.

“ If you will cry, then I will also cry.”

I looked at her, with more attention now. Yes, there were tears in her eyes. They didn’t role down, but they were floating at the border.

I didn’t know what to say.
I stopped crying.
Why was she crying?
Does she know why I am crying?
Is she crying because I am crying?
Or does she also miss him?

Mom came from other room.

“What happened Lily? You shouldn’t cry like this.”
“You should tell what you want or what you don’t” She looked at aunty and “Oh! Aunty is also crying!”

And now the tears were on her cheeks too. She wiped them fast and looked  other way to hid her face. Yes she was crying.

Mom took me to other room where all were watching television. All looked happy. Totally unaware of what just happened..

***

Guys I need your review, did you understand what I want to convey? Or can you please tell what you understood?

Thanks!

About Dhanashree

I am a newly married wife, in my mid twenties. Software Engineer by profession, I am quite tech friendly and I love to read and write. Maths was my favorite subject at school :) Now, I am working on my vocabulary and drawing skills. I am totally a family person!
This entry was posted in Bhauji, Cousins, Out of the list. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And we both cried together…

  1. shiviphoenix says:

    it’s so touching! 😦 it’s about your dad.. i hope he’s alright!

    Like

Leave a Reply

