Is this what it is to be a mom?


image

Rose plant with a new leaf!

Well, I had wanted a rose plant in our balcony from long time as we have many other plants but not a single rose. So I told mom about this as she is the gardener.
But she said we had one rose plant but it died and now if I want one I should first water existing plants daily.
Okay. Now that’s a quite fair deal. And I tried doing but then,there came rainy season and I lost my habit of doing it regularly.Β  So I myself gave it a second thought that if I can’t preserve the existing plants, how can I get a new one? And having a new one and not taking care of it, just letting it die is like a sin. A murder.
But I anyhow wanted a rose plant. So I thought of an idea. I gifted it toy dad πŸ˜€ he is assistant gardener πŸ˜›
I mean mom knows very well how to plant a tree and how to feed them with fertilisers. She also knows if plants are not getting enough of sun light. So, she looks after plants and dad waters them, daily, without fail.
So I realised even I bring a plant and don’t get time to look after it, they both will definitely care about it. And so they did πŸ˜€ Although I did plant it under mother’s guidance and would at least say hi to it daily.
But from long time, say from October,it never showed any growth. There was neither a new leaf nor the old leaves grew. But it didn’t even dry out and die. It was there. Fresh and lively. Maybe it was taking its time to strengthen the roots in new soil.
I had almost given up on it when yesterday mom told me it has got many new leaves!

image

Wow!Β  It’s like seeing your baby say it’s first word or standing up for the first time! :-*
Now I am waiting for the day when it will have first bud, first rose! It will be like the child entering into puberty! Uff! Parents have so many dreams for their kids!!

About Dhanashree

I am a newly married wife, in my late twenties. Software Engineer by profession, I am quite a tech-friendly and I love to read and write. Maths was my favorite subject at school :) Now, I am working on my vocabulary and drawing skills. I am totally a family person!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is this what it is to be a mom?

  1. shiviphoenix says:

    i agree. i had the same feeling when i planted rose in my balcony. i had got the rose cuttings from my parents home and planted 5 of them. i was on cloud 9 when i saw the first bud growing. i felt like a mother πŸ˜‰ happy to see her child grow. but unfortunately 4 of them dried up after growing for few days but luckily one cutting survived and is constantly growing and even a cute lil flower blossomed. it’s such a satisfying feeling to see your plants grow and even more when you know it’s because of your nurturing and care πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

