Five Words on Friday!


Of all the dreams that I have, one is to be a writer, or I can just say be able to write something that has some standard, that others will want to read and most important I myself would want people to know that I am its author.

But my biggest problem is my vocabulary. It’s very poor and so I tend to use very common words. I feel this limits my writing. It feels always the same. Even I write a poem, it feels as if it very casual. Although I do believe that simplicity is never boring, I would like to have different flavours to my writing.

The other thing is, I also want to clear MBA entrance, which needs really good vocabulary. So any how I have to work on this.

The question is, who is stopping me? Myself. My laziness.

As I have realized this, I am once again going to give it a try. I have brought this book, Emma by Jane Austen. I  know I must have read this book long time back. But…never mind. Okay. And now, I am going to start this section on my blog. Five words on Friday.

So today’s five words are here, and all of them are from ‘Emma’

1. Parish -a district with its own church and clergy, a smallest unit of government in rural areas.
It is used to describe places where Emma’s dad’s friends come from. Either the same parish or nearby parish.

2.Vicar – priest in charge of a parish.
So one of his friends is a widow of a Vicar.

3. Quadrille – a dance form performed by four couples
The widow happen to be interested in tea and the quadrille.

4. Predicament – difficult situation.
The daughter of the same friend was in a predicament.

Here is the last one –

5. Atonement – the action of making amends for a sin or other wrongdoings, the reconciliation of God and humanity through the death of Jesus.
The daughter couldn’t make atonements. (I really didn’t get this point!)

The words are from 3rd chapter of the book and are from just 2 pages! Hush! And I am tired. But it’s like my last chance, at least for doing MBA. If it works this time, there cannot be better thing in this world for me!

Readers, if you can suggest anything, please go ahead. I need everything from ideas to blessings! I am opened to everything!

Keep learning.

About Dhanashree

I am a newly married wife, in my late twenties. Software Engineer by profession, I am quite a tech-friendly and I love to read and write. Maths was my favorite subject at school :) Now, I am working on my vocabulary and drawing skills. I am totally a family person!
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Learn English, Read Old English Classics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

