The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho


After a long time, I am back to my old hobby, READING. I must agree, I struggled to finish these 2 books – Emma and The Alchemist. And to be honest, I didn’t even read Emma till the last page. Maybe I will go back some time to finish it but I am almost at the end. I am done with The Alchemist. And here I am with a post on the book. *ta da*

Though, you must know that this is not a review.

The story is about a boy from Spain, Santiago who likes to travel. He chooses to become a shepherd. Because shepherd gets to travel a lot, with his sheep. This shepherd has a dream, of going to pyramids where he believes he is going to find some hidden treasure. This dream is referred as his destiny or in some versions of book as personal legend. He meets different people on his way of achieving his destiny. They all seem to push him to make it reality. As the writer often says – when we wish for something, entire universe conspires for that wish to come true.

Paulo has nicely described everything. He tells how some people don’t achieve their dreams, some just don’t want it to come true while some are worried about the failures or about other things they will lose on their way.
The book has a nice conversation between the boy and his heart, a kind which we all should have with ours. He do meets lot of problems on his way, and he does fight hard and does everything that he is supposed to do in order to achieve his dream. And the people around him support his efforts.

The Alchemist made me think of my dream. I will not say I have completely given up. But I had stopped trying. Perhaps I will re-think about it. Or I have already started thinking about it. I want my dreams to come true. Now that I have met my partner, my soul mate, I think there should be nothing to stop me from working hard. That’s where I lack. And I don’t dare to give up things. The conversations in the book were eye opener to me. I feel like I really need to give it another chance. I need to talk to AK about this. Only I don’t know where to start from. The dream is too big and may be very vague to explain. But I have to do it. Or there will only be regret at the end.

I would love to write on this blog, how the universe conspired to make my dream into reality!

Keep watching the space 😉

Thanks Paulo Coelho for this inspiring book. May be this book is the first sign. And thanks dad for gifting it to me!!

A must read, at least once in your life time.

Leave a Reply

