Marathon Survivors!! – Part 2


16th October 2016 – Marathon Day
The alarm rings at 6 am. My husband wakes up and wakes me up too. Which is totally opposite of what happens on every other day.
Hubby : Come on, we have to go. We need to get up or we will be late.
Me : Ya, right. (But stays in bed.)

Finally @ 7, we are out of bed.

Hubby : The race starts at 10:10. So we will have to leave at 8:30 at least as we will be riding on bicycle. So we will have some buffer time after reaching there.
Me : Yes, 8:30 without fail.

@ 7:45 – 8
I come out of bathroom

Hubby : I had called my friend XYZ (who stays nearby). He said he will be leaving at 9.
Me : OK. So what about us?
Hubby : We are still with our schedule. We will leave house at 8:30 sharp.

@ 8:15
We were filling the details in a form that was behind the number. In the form, they have asked about medical history. My husband has a bit high sugar and he is taking medication. I told him you have to mention it. He wasn’t willing to.
Hubby : What if they don’t let me to run?
Me : So what? I will also not run.
Hubby : But I want to run.
Me : They will let you run. It is just diabetes. Nothing severe.
Hubby : (Didn’t say anything.)
@ 8:50 we are done and wearing shoes.
Me : Good that we decided time as 8:30 or we would still be late. 🙂

We rode cycle in the cold weather. Luckily it wasn’t that cold. And it didn’t even rain!! We reached the destination at 9:30. There were lots of people coming from everywhere for marathon. I have never seen so much of a crowd in Amsterdam. Although back in India I am used to it, but not here. And they were all so excited and cheery, it just set the mood. And not for a moment did the thought cross our mind that we don’t want to run the marathon. We just swam with the crowd and without knowing anything we were already in the lane where the race was going to take place.There were so many other people who weren’t running but were just there to cheer us. It was amazing feeling, like they were pushing us to reach the finish line.

IMG_20161016_100625894.jpg

NOTE : Both of us (probably only both of us) were wearing jeans for the marathon. Because I thought it is going to be very cold and it will be difficult to run. My husband had brought shorts to change but he didn’t go for it. We ran the entire race in jeans while every one else was in sportswear.

@10 am
Hubby : We are wearing jeans
Me : It’s OK. It is our first marathon.
Hubby : Ya but still.
Me : Next time we will come prepared. (I was already in the achievement mood. So nothing was going bring me down. Not even any kind of humiliation)

@10:10
We began to run(read as walk). We learnt that although the pistol trigger was pulled at 10:10, it took us almost 5-10 more minutes to cross the actual starting point.
Hubby : I might go ahead as I run.
Me : That’s OK. I will come. (Pff… I am independent woman!)

I really couldn’t keep pace with my husband. I kept on going with the hope that I will find him. Craning my neck to get his glimpse in that crowd.
He used to wait for me (I told him don’t but he still did) then I would catch up with him and then again he would disappear. We had done 4 km. After 3rd time he decided to stay with me rather than going ahead.
After 5 km, they had stalls of water, juice some energy bars and sponges to wipe our sweat. Energy bars were over till we reach there and we weren’t sweaty at all for sponges, so we drank some juice and went on.
In no time we had finished 7 km.But the last km was the toughest!
750 m
500 m
200 m
and finally 100 m
And we could see the end point! And we did it!

img_20161016_112706499

It felt like and achievement then. First marathon and finished in time. It was cool. We weren’t even prepared to run the marathon and here we are finishing in time. 🙂

It feels good, to have done something new. To do something you never thought you would do. I always felt like I lacked in extra curricular activitis. So it’s kind of an opportunity that I got and I grabbed it!

I think it was not our will that helped us to finish. Our will only took us to the marathon, but it was the environment there that galvanized us to finish it! I am thankful for everyone present there for this. And I am thankful to my husband as well, it is for him that I ever thought of running this marathon at first place!! :*

The organisers had arranged good snacks. We met other friends there. And we had fun 🙂

An experience worth cherishing!

What about you? Have you ran a marathon? What was your experience? Or are you planning to?  Do share!!

 

One thought on “Marathon Survivors!! – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Focus shift! | My life into making

Leave a Reply

