The Greatest Role in the World!


Is that of a ‘Mavashi!’

In English it means – maternal aunt. It is like being a mom, without having to suffer the labor pain πŸ™‚

I have two beautiful nieces. And being their aunt gives me the most pleasure!

My dear little nieces!

My dear little nieces!

We get all the love, we get all the hugs and kisses. We get to be part of their world. We are allowed to play with their toys. We are allowed to click cute photos with them. If we are lucky, we also get the first share from their chocolate πŸ˜› And we are excused from all other chores because we are doing the most difficult task of keeping them busy and not letting them cry!

All they need in return is patience. Patience to listen to them, to understand what they really want to say. We should not treat them as “kids”. Instead we should consider them as some one grown up. Ask for their say. Treat them as matured. Take their side when their mom won’t. Buy them things that their mom won’t. This part is bit tricky, because we have to later convince their mom that this is last time it’s alright! Sometimes I have to go an extra bit and learn their gathering dance and perform it with them, in front of all the family members. But then, I think love is the best form of bribery that you can give to get moreΒ love.

Now that I am staying away from them, I feel I am left out. I am missing all of their growing up process. My cousin does keep me updated, but getting first hand information is all together a different thing. I know they miss me too. The younger one keeps telling me on phone, “Mavashi, I have a secret to tell you.” And when I ask her to tell me, she cleverly replies – “I will tell you only when you will come to my house.” I laugh.

It is this feeling, that someone misses you and want to see you back, is priceless. The way in which she expresses, so innocently, makes me feel so lucky to be their aunt!


This post is part of ‘Weekly Discover Challenge.’ Having kids around is such a wonderful thing. They make us forget all the bitterness and sorrows and make us believe that the world is a better place. It can be the our nieces or nephews or it can be a little friend in our neighborhood. Or it can be our own kid! Who is that kid in your life?

About Dhanashree

I am a newly married wife, in my late twenties. Software Engineer by profession, I am quite a tech-friendly and I love to read and write. Maths was my favorite subject at school :) Now, I am working on my vocabulary and drawing skills. I am totally a family person!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Cousins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Greatest Role in the World!

  1. Plasma says:

    What can be greater than such a nice feeling. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Louise says:

    I wish my daughters’ aunts (and one in particular) lived closer. Such a great place to have in their lives – and for them to have in yours.

    Like

  3. Oh! I so agree with you. Without the burden of raising them, and yet getting to snuggle, cuddle and pamper, that is the best job. I still remember the day by sis’s son was born. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

