A lot like that…


I have always liked to brag about the fact that I like to watch movies! A lot of them, but not all of them. I also think of myself as superior to others who just prefer to watch mainstream cinema. And I will literally bow down to those who watch more movies like me and more than me. I know they are a lot of them.

My logic is simple. I watch movies with lot of involvement. And after this much involvement, which I don’t make in any other things, dead or alive, I expect to get something in return. And especially when we don’t have to do any hard work to get the returns, we expect even more 😉

When I was young, I would watch any movie I could grab my hands on. Yeah, because I had access to very few movies. And then, I never really thought through the story-line or the plot or the acting. I would just be happy with a happy ending or getting to watch beautiful looking people for 2 – 3 hours.

And one day, all of a sudden, I realized I don’t want to watch these movies. One, because they all are same and two because they are neither real nor a fantasy. They are just dreams, they are not even goals 😦

I moved towards more realistic movies. Movies that talk about a teenager paving his way in adulthood, or a middle class man trying to be happy. Sometimes even romantic movies can also be based on real emotions. Other kind of movies that I enjoy are about soldiers because they are mainly based on real stories. I also love science fiction, I know they are not real, but they talk something that can happen in future, which is definitely exciting!

But point of my post is, after watching so many movies, I realized that we learn to find a pattern in all of them. The sci-fi, the rom-coms, the soldeir movies. Only the ones based on life of an individual are unique. Otherwise, only things that matter is – how the movie is put in front of you.

Over the time, it has become really difficult for me to enjoy any movie. In past couple of months I must have watched at least 10-12 movies out of which only 2 or 3 could impress me. Life becomes difficult when the only thing you were interested in becomes boring.

I don’t want to give so fast. After all, all I have to do is just invest some time and watch. I will continue to give a shot to my genre of movies for some more time. They might reach the notch, we never know 🙂


As I grow up, I realize that there are so many things that I thought I knew, I still don’t know. And my understanding and liking keeps on changing. My experience challenge my own wisdom, the one I gathered from my previous experience. Do you feel the same?

About Dhanashree

I am a newly married wife, in my mid twenties. Software Engineer by profession, I am quite tech friendly and I love to read and write. Maths was my favorite subject at school :) Now, I am working on my vocabulary and drawing skills. I am totally a family person!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Movies, Myself. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A lot like that…

  1. @pandorica says:

    I am also a movie geek!!! I love watching films, analyzing them, and talking them with others.. Recently, I made a list of films and also tv programs I find exceptional..

    Like

Leave a Reply

