Periods


I have already written a post on this topic before, and I feel like writing something about it again.

Especially now, when people are being so vocal about these things, I don’t think there is any point in holding myself back.

So… I have read some posts by my fellow bloggers where they have opposed the allegations against women of being less productive during this time of the month. And I disagree. I don’t want to pretend that nothing happens to me when I am on periods. I really feel low at times. I feel dizzy and weak due to loss of blood and their is hell lot of pain in my back and legs. I even get cramps. I don’t feel like getting out of my bed. And sometimes I change my pads only because I don’t have other option. I know women who suffer worse than this. Some have gases, indigestion, stomach ache. Some have their menstrual cycle a week long while those who have irregular cycles can have it even longer.

I think this is absolutely natural. I don’t do it on purpose. The mood swings, the pain, both are a result of hormonal changes. They are as natural as men’s moustache or beard.

Almost every woman bear this pain every month. If I have to give statistics, I will say 9 out of 10 women have the pain. I will go ahead and accept that we also wish to take leaves instead of commuting a long distance journey just to be called ‘non productive’.

I wish somebody could explain the sanitary napkin advertisement directors/writers that blood spilling out is not the only problem we have. It is just one of them. And no matter how much blood your pads can absorb, we never wear white pants during periods. Not out of fear but out of love for those pants.(Or do both the things mean same? I don’t know, I am on my periods!!)

My point is, just from these 4 days, you can’t conclude that we are less productive in our work. Sometimes the first 2 days(toughest!!) fall on the weekends as well! And even if you consider those 4 days as non productive, i can still show you some men who in spite of “being men” are not productive for 4 days of every week.

Coming straight to the point, I agree that we might not be that efficient at times, due to natural reasons, but we(everyone who is otherwise productive) do give our  100% for the rest of the month and if you consider it’s gross total it will still be more than 100% of the entire months of many other people. Again, we cannot deny the fact that there are women who, in spite of the pain, work equally hard and give their best every day.

Now if you think this post of mine is useless, non worthy and not my best because I am feeling down, then let me tell you, it is still better than many of my other posts which I had written when I was absolutely normal. And you can find many other bloggers irrespective of male or female write better or worse than me.

I think I have made my point here!!

annoyed

About Dhanashree

I am a newly married wife, in my late twenties. Software Engineer by profession, I am quite a tech-friendly and I love to read and write. Maths was my favorite subject at school :) Now, I am working on my vocabulary and drawing skills. I am totally a family person!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Myself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Periods

  1. I am going on quote Rachael here, “No uterus. No opinion”. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

